Core Facilities and Big Data

Main areas of interest and priorities of the Focus Group

1. BENCHMARKING – to suggest best practices in following: a) evaluation of Core Facilities (internal, external), b) quality assurance, c) structured self-assessment, d) reporting of CF performance

2. BEST PRACTICE SHARING – a) to share our experiences and to identify and analyze present practices of operating Core Facilities (CF) at our Institutions, b) to develop and suggest implementation of best practice at our Institutions, c) to create the document containing suggestions for best operation of CF to be distribute to interested research institutions and government bodies, d) to use CF for training and education among our Institutions

3. FINANCIAL SUSTAINABILITY – to analyze current practice and suggest best models for following: a) public aid, b) financial support, c) level of support from local government/institution, d) service contracts, e) sustainability of core facilities, f) ways of getting funds

4. ACCESS RULES AND FEES (OPEN ACCESS) – to discuss and identify optimal approach in following: a) price calculation, b) open access, c) definition of access rules to CF

5. DATABASE OF EQUIPMENT – to exchange information of following: a) existing instrumentation, b) share plans for future purchases (possible cooperation in tendering – approval from Strategy board necessary)

6. BIG DATA – to analyze the following: a) Data Management Plan (including Metadata schemas), b) Big Data experience (sharing – training)

Focus Group Members

Focus Group Chair: 

Kateřina Vágnerová - Masaryk University - CEITEC;

Focus Group Co-chair: 

Michal Janota - St. Anne's University Hospital Brno/ ICRC;

Members of the Focus Group: 

Juraj Kopáček - Biomedical Research Center SAS;

Kamila KočíSt. Anne's University Hospital Brno/ ICRC;

Zofia Pawłowska - Medical University of Lodz;

Filip Sedlić - School of Medicine - University of Zagreb;

Aleksas Pikturna - Vilnius University - Faculty of Medicine;

Vida Lapinskaitė - Vilnius University - Faculty of Medicine;

Osvalds Pugovičs - Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis;

Brane Leskošek - University of Ljubljana;

Viktor Molnár - Semmelweis University;